Giving you personal and shared information on science, technology, technical & Investments in Nigeria

How to modify the folders Microsoft OneDrive syncs to the cloud

If a user desires to save files to the cloud and only to the cloud. There are settings in Microsoft OneDrive that make this possible.

Microsoft OneDrive is a convenient and operational cloud storage tool. A free GB version comes with Windows and will be active if someone opts to sign in to your PC applying Microsoft account credentials. If someone subscribes to Microsoft Office, by default, someone has access to TB of OneDrive storage space. In either case, more storage space is obtainable for an additional fee.

Also, by default, every folder, subfolder, and file located in OneDrive will robotically be synchronized with the cloud. Essentially, both the OneDrive directory on your local hard drive and the OneDrive directory in the cloud will be exactly the same after a successful sync. However, there are means to change this default behavior.

Advertisement

A user, for instance, who commented on How to assign a drive letter to Microsoft OneDrive in Windows, would like to copy or move files to the OneDrive cloud and not have them sync with the local hard drive. This tutorial shows someone how to modify the folders Microsoft OneDrive syncs to the cloud to accomplish this goal.

How to modify the folders OneDrive syncs to the cloud

For this instance, we will apply the Windows version of OneDrive, however, the basic steps are the same for both versions.

Advertisement

The first step is to open the Settings window for OneDrive. Right-click the cloud icon in the Notification area of the desktop and select Settings from the context menu and then select the Account tab. This area is also referred to as the system tray. Typically, the Notification area is located in the lower right-hand corner of the Windows desktop,

On the OneDrive settings screen, shown in Figure B, someone has to observe a summary of your OneDrive’s configuration, together with how much storage space someone are using. For this instance, we desired to click the button that speaks select folders.

Advertisement

The next screen, shown in Figure C, will show someone all of the folders currently being synchronized by the OneDrive system. By default, all folders and subfolders will have checkmarks next to their names.

Remove the checkmarks from the folder or folders someone do not wish to sync anymore. Someone will observe a significant reminder that OneDrive will delete files located in the unselected folder from your local hard drive. From this point on, those files will only exist in the cloud. Click the OK button twice to complete the process.

If someone decides someone would like to initiate synchronizing that folder again, reverse the process and give the system some time to retrieve the files.

Couple this change to Microsoft OneDrive’s default behavior with the passed tip for assigning a drive letter to OneDrive and someone should have a simple way to save files to the cloud and only to the cloud as user requested.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Spread the love
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Advertisement

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Advertisement
WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
error: Content is protected !!